1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Now your loved ones can see your Uber ride in real time

Discussion in 'Mobile Apps / Developers News' started by Alexa, May 18, 2016.

  1. Alexa

    Alexa Subscribers
    Verified Customer

    Oct 18, 2014
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    A new safety feature has been added to Uber for families that will help you keep peace of mind when your loved ones ride to another location. Using Uber’s Family Profile feature will let an account’s creator to receive a notification as soon as another member starts a trip using your billing method. You can also open the notification to get a live map of where your family member is currently riding the Uber.


    Before this, you were always able to directly share a ride to any user you wished to share your ride status with. However, this is explicitly voluntary and the new Family Profile Trip Tracker is automatic with riders under the same account. Uber must have had to do something about kids maybe riding Uber on their parent’s credit card and running it up. Perhaps this measure is for parents to more easily see where their kids/loved ones are going.

    In order to set this up, Uber outlines the steps needed to take in order to set up the live Trip Tracker. Once you’ve made sure you are on the latest version of the Uber app, set up your family profile, and you’ll be all set! Any riders you add under your Family Profile will be visible to you when they request a ride. If you don’t want to be visible to others, then you can simply use your own payment method.

    Source | Via
    GsmDude likes this.

Share This Page